jump to navigation

E-Readers Not Completely Thought Out May 7, 2011

Posted by Peter Varhol in Publishing.
trackback

I like my Nook e-reader.  There are a few things that need to be addressed, such as search, which needs to allow me to do more than simply find keywords and pages.  But the vast majority of my pleasure reading is now digital.

I had another problem that shows that the e-reader model needs more work.  My longtime ISP has abruptly closed its doors, necessitating a change in email address for a number of accounts, including my barnesandnoble.com account.

Imagine my surprise when that didn’t update the email address on my Nook.  I went to the Nook, except that it didn’t let me update the email address on the device.

Time to turn to the documentation.  According to the user guide, I had to unregister the device from barnesandnoble.com, and then re-register it.  When I tried that, however, it told me that my email address didn’t match the one online (of course it didn’t), and offered me the opportunity to change it.  I did so, and it responded that my Nook was already registered, and I wasn’t allowed to do anything more.

Sigh.  Time to call support.  After backing up my reading, I had to go through an involved process to back up my books to my PC (easy to do), reset the device to factory defaults, have the support person arrange to unregister it on the barnesandnoble.com side, and then finally re-register the reader.  It took a little more than an hour, and just because I changed my email address.

That shouldn’t happen.  I’m disappointed that simply changing the email address on my online account required such gyrations to bring the Nook reader in sync once again.  That is yet another example that, regrettably, this technology isn’t quite ready for prime time.  I don’t doubt it will get this, but this is an unforgiveable design flaw.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

