jump to navigation

About Project Management and Health Care July 13, 2015

Posted by Peter Varhol in Uncategorized.
trackback

This is a difficult post to write. Not because I have any issues discussing my health. Rather, I’m concerned that this may be read by someone who might otherwise be inclined to hire me based principally on my intelligence and skills.

But all is not right with me, physically. I spent roughly five days in the hospital, about 75 days ago. I got transferred to a more comprehensive hospital part way through. Long story short, my initial diagnosis was pancreatic cancer. In the hospital, I learned that there is a difference between diagnosis and treatment. The head of surgery came to me, and said that I needed a Whipple’s procedure, which is the Hail Mary pass for treatment for pancreatic cancer. He didn’t know for certain what I had, or what caused it, but was almost certain that it required major surgery to address.

I liked and respected that surgeon, but I declined. Not because I had any rational reason to do so, other than the fact that it is major and life-altering surgery. Rather, it was because he didn’t know what was wrong with me, and neither did anyone else. It seems a drastic answer to inconclusive information.

Instead, I waited a month and got re-tested, with slightly more invasive techniques. I almost certainly don’t have pancreatic cancer. While we continue to refine my diagnosis, my current prospects for treatment include even the possibility of no surgery. I continue to live as normal a life as possible, with a special diet but almost no physical restrictions.

So what is this post about? It’s about a few things. First, it’s about taking control of your own health care. You are your health care project manager. Doctors are human, and they try to diagnose and treat the things they know something about. The many doctors you see for a major condition treat the symptoms that resonate with them, rather than treat the whole person, and they don’t communicate effectively with one another. You are the one who can tie together the disparate information possessed by your different doctors. Be your own project manager.

Second, it’s about what you do know and what you don’t. When there was a lot I didn’t know, I refused to make a major decision until I knew more. So I am always asking what is the next step, rather than what is the ultimate outcome.

Third, it’s about your focus when you are faced with life-altering decisions. Many friends and family were projecting me several months down the road, possibly recovering from significant surgery but likely not having the quality of life I had in the past. I refused to buy into that vision. Rather, I have said, and continue to say, that my next step is to get more information before I decide irrevocably on a treatment path. That philosophy has worked for me so far.

Last, and I think most important, it’s about determining the course of your life. I continued to try to live as normal a life as possible, most especially including my recent distance running endeavors. Yesterday, I ran a formal 5K race in which I creamed my personal best, even in my daily practice runs. All is not right with me, but my health and life are on a positive trajectory. I am healthy, in excellent shape, and striving for excellence. I will do that until I can’t any more.

And about my ongoing job search. If you don’t want to hire me based on how you perceive my health, that is your right. If you want to hire me, based on my instinctive positive attitude and determination, I could welcome it.

And if it doesn’t matter to you one way or the other, that’s okay too.

More on this topic at a later time.

Comments»

1. Why Aren’t You Dead? | Cutting Edge Computing - October 24, 2015

[…] that a couple of those doctors treated me as a person, rather than a collection of symptoms. I also took control of my health care, did research on my condition (thanks, Dr. Google), and determined that it was premature to talk […]


Leave a Reply

