jump to navigation

I Am Strong January 7, 2016

Posted by Peter Varhol in Uncategorized.
trackback

This is a stupid post, but something that I have to say. I have had significant health issues in the past year, and have recovered, thanks in large part to running.  Running taught me to listen to my body, and to trust it.

And I am stronger than ever. I beat my best race time by a minute and a half in a 5K race on New Year’s Day.  Not that I am fast, but once I get going, I can go for a long time.  I ran the last half mile with an untied shoelace.  I simply wasn’t going to stop to tie it.

I have run the last two mornings, with a temperature of 6 degrees Fahrenheit, and negative wind chills.

I am not trying to assert superiority over anyone here (there are many who are far superior to me), but I am trying to say that I am exploring the boundaries of my physical and mental being, and largely doing well at it. This surprises me.

Try stretching yourself at something. You might surprise yourself.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

