jump to navigation

Bank of America is Pure Evil March 3, 2016

Posted by Peter Varhol in Technology and Culture.
Tags: ,
trackback

All I wanted to do was pay a couple of bills online, as I have done for years.  Suddenly I could not even reach a website that I had used for years.

I never wanted to bank at Bank of American to begin with.  About 25 years ago, I started my self-employment odyssey, and wanted to open a SEP (self-employment pension plan).  The only bank in my area offering such an account at the time was Nashua Federal Savings and Loan.  Well, in the interim, Nashua Federal became NFS, got bought by Baybank, which got bought by Bank of Boston, which became BankBoston, which got bought by Fleet, which was bought by Bank of America.

And here I am.  I would very much prefer not to be; service at Bank of America has at best been uneven, as they have failed to follow through on promises and churned the service people I was in the middle of dealing with.

And do you know what my real problem is?  “Our website has not changed, it’s your computer.”  I call bullshit.  I am using the same computer, and same browser version, as I did when I successfully logged on a few days earlier.  And, by the way, no OS updates either.

And it was incredibly insulting.  I tried to explain that I was a computer expert.  It may sound egotistical and self-serving, but I was trying to level-set my experience so that I might get assistance that was appropriate to that experience.  No dice.  They have one protocol, and they use it to the point of wearing it out.

I tolerated their protocol.  Now my IE configuration is completely screwed up, and I cannot log into anything right now.

I repeat:  All I wanted to do was pay a couple of bills.  Perhaps two minutes total.  I am now at an hour and a half, with no resolution on the horizon.

Bank of America, you are pure evil.

Comments»

1. Thank You Bank of America: Paying Bills Keeps Getting More Challenging | Cutting Edge Computing - February 3, 2017

[…] had issues with Bank of America before.  I would move, but for various reasons several of my accounts are sticky.  But they keep […]


Leave a Reply

