jump to navigation

Should I Be Celebrating International Women’s Day? March 9, 2016

Posted by Peter Varhol in Uncategorized.
trackback

The whole thing seems a bit contrived. And yes, demeaning to women.  Why call out something like this, in a perfect world?  If we celebrate women and their achievements on one day of the year, what are we doing the rest of the days?  And I find it extremely ironic that Google has seen fit to offer an animated JPEG for the day on its search engine, seeing that Google employs so few women to begin with.

I was raised in a very traditional household, but have been fortunate to know many smart and capable women throughout my life. I have not always been what I would like to be, but I have mostly treated the women in my life as equals.

We should not need a day for this. It provides us with a reason to revert back to apathy for the rest of the year.  Let’s try this:  treat all people equally.  You may treat people poorly, or well, but don’t treat them different on the basis of gender.  Or, for that matter, anything else.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

