jump to navigation

My Manifesto for Human Interaction April 5, 2016

Posted by Peter Varhol in Uncategorized.
trackback

I resolve:

To treat everyone I meet, however casually, with politeness and respect, no matter what the circumstances.

To judge people by the value that they deliver, rather than the color of their skin, their gender, their appearance, their age, their religious beliefs, or anything else that doesn’t affect our interactions.

And that that value may be intellectual, physical, emotional, commercial, spiritual, or any other measure that lets both of us live in the way that we do. It is a very big world, after all.

That while I may disagree with others, I do so knowing that they believe that their point of view is valid to them, and that I should seek to understand.

And that while I may understand, I also realize that disagreement may place us into conflict. I regret that, but if you should choose to physically or emotionally harm others, I will not be on your side.

And I hope they will see me in a similar way. And that I might be worthy of such treatment.  To be fair, I’m not sure that I am.  It is an ongoing process.

I think I have mostly delivered on this in my life, but now this is my stake in the ground.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

