jump to navigation

A Couple of Thoughts About Brexit June 24, 2016

Posted by Peter Varhol in Uncategorized.
trackback

“listen: there’s a hell of a good universe next door; let’s go”

That is a line from a poem by e. e. cummings, and one that I used in my youth. I became interested in e. e. cummings for a while sometime in junior high school, possibly because he tended to break rules, such as those on capitalization.

Still, for most of today, I shrugged at the thought of Brexit. I never really noticed that Britain was a part of the E.U., having to go through security at Schiphol for some odd reason, and still pass through Customs and Immigration yet again at Heathrow. And, of course, the currency. I enjoyed telling people about my experience with the E.U, whereby I visited Belgium, the U.K., Switzerland, and Bulgaria on a trip, and didn’t understand the concept of a single currency (those countries represent four different currencies. While Switzerland isn’t a member of the E.U., they are a Schengen country, so I didn’t have to pass through Immigration in Zurich.)

But e. e. cummings reminded me that there is a big universe out there, and that we should endeavor to visit much of it. And as easily as possible.

And then I thought of “Ich bin ein Berliner“, the quote used by John Kennedy in West Berlin in 1963. “I am a citizen of Berlin”, emphatically making the point that we all have a shared interest in freedom.

At that at some point in the near future, citizens of the U. K. will not be able to say “I am a European”. There is a shared interest there, too. And a need to visit the rest of the universe.

It just got more difficult.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

