jump to navigation

In Defense of Entertainment Past December 10, 2016

Posted by Peter Varhol in Uncategorized.
trackback

I am of a certain age. I remember popular music (some, as I had an older sibling) from the 1960s, more from the 1970s, when I was a teen.  And I like music from later decades; my tastes, I think, tend to be eclectic.

But we tend to lose sight of those who brought their talents to people in the past, in at least some part because we believe that talent from the past does not equate to talent of today. I beg to disagree.

Two voices, not common, from my early times. Jim Nabors, yes Gomer Pyle, he of the “Shazaam!”  My god.  Please, take eight minutes of your life and listen.  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yJlgio-UOng&t=335s .  You will thank me, I believe.

Ricky Nelson, he of Ozzie and Harriett, circa 1960. I once played Ricky Nelson for someone, she said, I cannot believe that his voice isn’t electronically enhanced.  I said, it’s the 1960s, dammit.  Another who passed before his time (died in an airplane crash at 45).  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PECmjB9df0w.

More in the pop era, Annie Haslam and Renaissance. There are very few five-octave voices in history, but she was (is) one.  You will not find a voice like this anywhere else.  Here is just one of her masterpieces.  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0CBShoN2bhA

You may not appreciate, but you should. There is much in history to learn.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

