jump to navigation

About Being Great February 15, 2017

Posted by Peter Varhol in Uncategorized.
trackback

I am not, let’s get that out of the way right now.  I have certain things going for me.  I am smart, I have a really good memory (most of my friends curse me for it), I am active physically and curious mentally.  I have a growth mindset.

But I truly admire someone 20 years younger than me.  Yes, that is Tom Brady, quarterback of the New England Patriots.  As he has fought through the most difficult year of his career, he remains the picture of class and grace.  His explanation of his ability to focus and control what he can control is simply amazing.

There are those will continue to call him a cheater.  From what I have read, I think not.  I think he was punished through an exercise of power that had little to do with the facts of the case.  I think any reasonable and objective person would agree with that.

Yes, I live in New England, now for most of my adult life.  But I am not a die-hard football fan.  I grew up as a casual fan of the Pittsburgh Steelers, and was a teen during their first years of success.  In the conference championship game of this year, I was fine with whatever team won.  I was traveling during the Super Bowl, and only received occasional updates.

Many people might interpret Brady’s words as false, even hyperbole.  I simply don’t see that, because he has had many opportunities to say what he really thinks, and continues to be high-minded.  Certainly few would blame him for taking out frustrations on others, yet he does not.

Coming up on my 60th birthday, I still have much to learn about life.  Tom Brady can teach me, through his example.  I promise to be just a little better tomorrow than I am today.  He promises to excel every day.

 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

